Refresh Active Directory Group Membership of PC without reboot

 

If you ever tested stuff that is based on AD-Groups for Computers – like GPO Software deployment – you have experienced that the PC “knows” its new group membership only after a reboot or after seven days of waiting….

After searching a while I found a way to get membership changes without reboot:

Open a command promt in the system user context and purge the kerberos tickets to get new ones, e.g. with the great tool psexec :

a) Download psexec

b) open an elevated command promt, navigate to the folder you downloaded psexec to and start psexec with the paramter “-s” to start the session on the local PC in system user context:

psexec –s cmd

image

c) run “klist –li 0x3e7 purge

image

d) the Keberos tickets get renewed and the new group membership is also populated Smiley

 

On Windows 7 and beyond/Server 2008 and beyond klist is coming with the OS, on Windows XP/Vista/Server 2003 you have to get klist form the Windows Server 2003 Resource Kit Tools.

 

Thanks to Darren for sharing this great tipp!

Advertisements

DMA vs. PIO , wenn Windows XP mal richtig lahmt

Heute hatte ich das Vergnügen den PIO Modus kennen zu lernen.

Der PIO Modus ist eine stark veraltete Art mit dem PCI Controller zu kommunizieren. Wird es fälschlicherweise bei einem IDE Laufwerk eingestellt, wird der Datentransfer zu diesem extrem langsam.

Windows XP setzt teilweise automatisch den PIO Mode anstatt des DMA Mode ein, wenn eine Anzahl von Lesefehlern überschritten wird.

 

http://winhlp.com/node/15  <-  hier findet Ihr Abhilfe für das Problem

Offlinedateien – Leichen alter Server entfernen

Wenn Offlinedateien in Windows XP aktiviert sind und der Server auf dem diese lagen nicht mehr existiert, muss der Offlinedateien Cache neu initialisiert werden.

Dies funktioniert, indem man im Explorer unter “Extras” –> “Ordneroptionen” –> “Offlinedateien” mit gedrückter “STRG”- und “Umschalt”- Taste auf “Dateien löschen” klickt.

Vorsicht: Offline bearbeitete und nicht synchronisierte Dateien gehen verloren, ebenso wie Änderungen an noch nicht synchronisierten Dateien.

 

Mehr Infos: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/230738/de